welcome to Beijing A Glance of Beijing


Pre-historic man lived in Beijing some 700,000 years. Skull of Peking Man unearthed in the 1930s provided sufficient archeological evidence for scientists and local residents alike to detect the origin of their ancestral past.

The history of Beijing as a city can be dated back to more than 30 centuries ago. Ten centuries before Christ was born, Beijing has become the capital for such northern states as Ji and Yan. Since the year 221 B.C. when the First Emperor united China and created the Qin Dynasty, Beijing has been an important town in Northern China and capital of local authorities. The city remains capital of China's last feudal dynasties, namely Jin, Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties with time span ranging from 8th to 20th century, or Boo years.

Population & Ethnic Minorities

Beijing has a population of 12.5 million, the third largest city in China. Its daily transit population is around 3 million. The Han residents account for 96.5 percent of the total and some 400,000 residents are of the other 55 Chinese minorities.

Geographic Location

Beijing is located in the northwestern part of the North China Plain, 3956'N and 11626'E. Shanxi province and the Inner Mongolia Plateau are to its west, and it is linked with the North China Plain to the south. The Bohai River is 140 kilometers away from the city.

Beijing has a total area of 16,800 square kilometers, and the city proper occupies 1,041 square kilometers.


Beijing has a typical monsoon climate, with clear cut four seasons. The annual average rainfall about 630 millimeters, and the rain season is June and July. The best time for travelling is from August to November.

City Proper

Beijing is divided into 12 districts arid six counties. The four city propers are Dongcheng District, Xicheng District, Xuanwu District and Chongwen District.

The four near outskirts are Chaoyang District, Haidian District, Fengtai District and Shijingshan District The four far outskirts are Mentougou District, Fangshan District, Daxing District and Tongzhou District. The six counties are Changping County, Shunyi County, Pinggu County, Huairou County, Miyun County and Yanqing County.

City Tree

Oriental arborvitae and cypress

City Flower

Chinese rose and chrysanthemum

| China Travel Briefing | Destination Guide | Attractions | China Tours | Transportation | Cuisine | Shopping | Entertainment |
| Incentives and Meetings | Festivals and Themes | Accommodations | FAQ | Guestbook | Links | Contact US | Home |

Welcome to China Travel Planner This website is developed and managed by www.ChinaPlanner.com, a China travel service provider and a China tour operator.
566 7th Ave, Suite 506, New York, NY 10018, U.S.A. Copyright 1995 - 2004 All Rights Reserved.
For More Information, Please Contact us at: Phones: (212) 382-3725 / Fax: (212) 382-3701 or by e-mail